Scientific Program

Program (PDF)

Plenary Lectures

Dr. Claude GABRIELLI (Paris – France)
Inaugural talk
Claude Gabrielli spent his carrer at the “Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique” (CNRS) in the “Laboratoire Interfaces et Systèmes Electrochimiques” (LISE) at Sorbonne Université.
He graduates from the “Ecole Supérieure d’Electricité”, and then joined the laboratory of I. Epelboin where he prepared a PhD under his supervision. He has been strongly involved in the development of electrochemical impedance spectroscopy and electrochemical noise. Claude has over 300 refereed publications and co-authored many monographs.

Prof. Achim HASSEL (Johannes Kepler University Linz – Austria)

Prof. Oscar MATTOS (Federal University of Rio de Janeiro – Brazil)
“Electrochemical and electrohydrodynamic impedance applied in CO2 media at high pressures”
Oscar Mattos is professor at the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro since 1981. He is Docteur d'Etat from the University Pierre et Marie Curie (Paris, France) in 1981.
His fields of research are:
- the anodic dissolution of metals and alloys
- corrosion and corrosion monitoring in CO2 and H2S media
- inhibitors and paints
- electrochemical methods
Oscar is Editor-in-Chief of Corrosion Science.
His full records and CV are available at :

Prof. Ramón NÓVOA (University of Vigo - Spain)
“EIS for integrity assessment of reinforced concrete structures”
X. Ramón Nóvoa is a professor at the University of Vigo, Spain, where he teaches corrosion, chemistry and electrochemistry-related subjects and coordinates the ENCOMAT research group. His fields of research are metallic corrosion (reinforced concrete, stainless steels, coatings…) and materials for energy storage. He has co-authored more than 100 refereed scientific papers in the fields of corrosion and applied electrochemistry.

Dr. Daria VLADIKOVA (Institute of Electrochemistry and Energy Systems – Bulgaria)
Impedance-Based Techniques for Improved Monitoring and Diagnostics of Electrochemical Power Sources
Daria Vladikova is professor of Electrochemistry at the Institute of Electrochemistry and Energy Systems at the Bulgarian Academy of Sciences. She has a PhD in Solid State Chemistry and a D.Sc. in Electrochemistry. In the last 15 years she has been working on impedance studies of solid oxide fuel cells. She is the author of more than 100 scientific publications with 400 citations (co-author of one monograph and a chapter in an Encyclopedia on Power Sources, Elsevier). She has been awarded with Herman Gӧhr Award by the European Fuel Cell Forum. She is coordinating the National Distributed Infrastructure “Energy Storage and Hydrogen EneRgetics (ESHER)” and chairing the Bulgarian Hydrogen, Fuel Cells and Energy Storage Association. She is a member of the Scientific Committee of the Fuel Cells and Hydrogen Joint Undertaking.

Prof. Jianbo ZHANG (Tsinghua University - China)
The application and development of EIS in the characterization of fuel cell
and lithium-ion battery

Dr. Jianbo Zhang is a professor in the Department of Automotive Engineering, Tsinghua University, China. He is a member of the Scientific Committee of European Fuel Cell Forum, a member of the International Symposium of Electrochemical Impedance Spectroscopy, and an editor for the Battery journal. His research interests focus on the diagnostics and design of electrochemical devices such as the fuel cells and lithium-ion cells. The study on fuel cells includes the electron-spun and ordered catalyst layer, low Pt-loading and high power density stack design, and sub-zero start-up, etc., while the study on lithium-ion cells includes the design theory of electrodes and the cell, the quick charging from sub-zero, and the degradation diagnostics and prognostics, etc. He authored the book The Theory and Application of the Structure Design for Lithium-Ion Batteries (in Chinese).

Bernard Tribollet
is Director of Research Emerit at the “Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique” (CNRS) in the “Laboratoire Interfaces et Systèmes Electrochimiques” (LISE) at Sorbonne Université.
In 1973, after his graduation from the “Ecole Supérieure d’Electricité”, Bernard Tribollet joined the laboratory of I. Epelboin where he prepared a PhD under his supervision. In 1977 he held a CNRS position as “Assistant de Recherche” in the same laboratory, and he received his PhD in Physical Sciences in 1978. In 1981, with the support of a NSF fellowship, he spent one year as visiting scientist at the University of California, Berkeley under the supervision of Prof. John Newman.
Bernard has over 280 refereed publications and he has presented more than 50 invited talks in international conferences. During the first twenty years of his career, he worked in collaboration with Claude Deslouis on electro-diffusion flow diagnostics and mass transport in electrochemical systems. He generalized the electrochemical impedance to other perturbations, such as the rotation speed of a rotating disk electrode (EHD impedance), magnetic field (MHD impedance), and temperature (thermal impedance). He applied Electrochemical Impedance Spectroscopy to different problems concerning mass transport, conducting polymers, electrodissolution, and corrosion by developing models with clear physical meaning.
These last years, he has collaborated with many groups in different countries, in particular with Prof. Mark Orazem (USA), Prof. Oscar Mattos (Brazil), Dr. Marco Musiani (Italy).
Bernard Tribollet serves on the ECS Editorial Advisory Committee, he is Fellow of the Electrochemical Society, he was nominated Adjunct Professor of Beijing University of Chemical Technology. He was the Chairman of the 2010 Annual Meeting of the International Society of Electrochemistry in Nice, and he was the Treasurer of ISE between 2011 and 2017. Since 1989 he has delivered an annual short course on Impedance Spectroscopy at Sorbonne Université. He co-authored, with Prof. Mark Orazem of the University of Florida, a textbook on impedance spectroscopy published as part of the Electrochemical Society Series (Wiley) in 2008 for the first edition and in 2017 for the second edition. He is editor for Corrosion Science since 2018.

Tentative Program